top of page
Search

Student Series #11

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD

Graduation year: 2022

Topic: Racism, Racismo

Submission:

In 8th grade, we were covering a topic based on slavery in my Texas history class. I, being a Black student, was somewhat interested as to what slavery-focused topics they would cover in that class. However, anytime we cover issues (in class) that are inflicted onto Black people (such as segregation, slavery, civil rights movement), I feel uncomfortable as I get stares or people specifically asking me about the topic. Being the only Black student in the class, I felt somewhat uncomfortable as I was scared to see what would happen. As we were discussing, we got into an argument about slavery, which I did not want to participate in. My teacher randomly called on me and asked for my opinion. I had no intentions of joining in the conversation as it seemed off topic to what we were learning in the class. I simply responded by informing my teacher that I wasn't comfortable participating in the discussion. After the situation my friends picked up on it and asked me about it. I shared my discomfort with them as they seemed more mad than I did. That was not my first time dealing with targeted harassment that year as I had been called the n-word multiple times in 8th grade.


En octavo grado, estábamos estudiando un tema basado en la esclavitud en mi clase de historia de Tejas. Yo, siendo unx estudiante negrx, estaba algo interesadx en los temas centrados en la esclavitud que cubrirían en esa clase. Sin embargo, cada vez que cubrimos problemas (en clase) que se infligen a las personas negras (como la segregación, la esclavitud, el movimiento de derechos civiles), me siento incómodx cuando recibo miradas o personas que me preguntan específicamente sobre el tema. Siendo el/la únicx estudiante negrx en la clase, me sentí un poco incómodx ya que tenía miedo de ver qué pasaría. Mientras discutíamos, nos metimos en una discusión sobre la esclavitud, en la que no quería participar. Mi maestra me llamó al azar y me pidió mi opinión. No tenía intenciones de unirme a la conversación ya que parecía fuera de tema lo que estábamos aprendiendo en la clase. Simplemente respondí informándole a mi maestra que no me sentía cómodx participando en la discusión. Después de la situación, mis amigos lo captaron y me preguntaron sobre lo que paso. Compartí mi incomodidad con ellos, ya que parecían más enojados que yo. Esa no fue la primera vez que lidié con acoso selectivo ese año, ya que me llamaron la “n-word” varias veces en octavo grado.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Series #13

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Graduation year: 2020 Topic: Racism, Racismo Submission: This isn’t my story, but rather my mom’s. She used to work as a cafeteria worke

Student Series #12

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Topic: Sexual comment by a teacher, Comentario sexual de un profesor Submission: One day, I had dressed up a little bit more for a prese

Student Series #10

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual Katy ISD Graduation year: 2021 Topic: Racism Submission: In an activity during a class, a girl was supposed to communicate to her team that the word

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page