top of page
Search

Student Series #1

Updated: Aug 7, 2020

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD

Graduation year: 2022

Topic: Homophobia, Homofobia

Submission:

The principal at SLHS required that all parents sign a permission slip for members of our LGBTQ+ Pride Club to be included in the yearbook last year, but this requirement was not in place for the other clubs hosted by the school. It felt unfair that I had to go home, where I was not even remotely out of the closet, and ask my parents for something that would obviously indicate that I was gay. I was not ready for that - I knew how my parents felt about gay people. Some of us even talked about forging our parents' signatures, but I couldn't, so I never told my parents about the form. They somehow still found out about it, though: the form requirement and the fact that I was a member of our school's Pride Club. I still don't know how they figured it out; it may have been through a friend who told his parents about it, it may have been through a picture someone took at a Pride Club meeting that I was unaware of, I don't know.


What I do know is that my life became very difficult, very suddenly.


My parents have insisted several times on sending me to a conversion therapy office in Dallas since it happened. They've asked me to wear a rubber band on my wrist and to flick myself every time I had "sinful thoughts,” stuff like that. They've even threatened to cut me off financially and refuse to help pay my college tuition if I didn't try and get fixed. It's been very hard living in a household that rejects who you are, but so much harder to know that it wasn't even as a result of your own decision, your own autonomy. I was forced out of the closet one year ago, and I would give anything to go back.


El año pasado, la directora de SLHS requirió que todos los padres firmaran un permiso para que los miembros de nuestro Club del Orgullo LGBTQ+ pudieran ser incluidos en el anuario, pero este requisito no fue pedido de los otros clubes escolares. Me pareció injusto que tuviera que irme a casa, donde ni siquiera estaba remotamente fuera del closet, y pedirles a mis padres algo que obviamente iba a indicar que yo soy gay. No estaba preparado para eso, sabía cómo se sentían mis padres sobre las personas homosexuales. Algunos de nosotros (personas en el club) incluso hablamos de falsificar las firmas de nuestros padres, pero no pude, así que nunca les dije a mis padres sobre el formulario. Sin embargo, de alguna manera lo descubrieron: el requisito de firmar el formulario y el hecho de que era miembro del Club del Orgullo de nuestra escuela. Todavía no sé cómo lo descubrieron; puede haber sido a través de un amigo que se lo contó a sus padres, puede haber sido a través de una foto que alguien tomó en una reunión de Pride Club de la que yo no estaba al tanto, no lo sé.


Lo que sí sé es que mi vida se volvió muy difícil, muy repentinamente.


Desde que sucedió todo esto, mis padres han insistido varias veces en enviarme a terapia de conversión en Dallas. Me pidieron que me pusiera una banda elástica en la muñeca y me pegara con ella cada vez que tenía "pensamientos pecaminosos,” cosas así. Incluso me amenazaron con parar su apoyo financiero y negarse a ayudarme a pagar mi matrícula universitaria si yo no trato de arreglarlo (mi orientación sexual). Ha sido muy difícil vivir en un hogar que rechaza quién eres, pero es mucho más difícil saber que ni siquiera fue como resultado de tu propia decisión, tu propia autonomía. Fui forzado afuera del closet hace un año, y daría cualquier cosa por volver.



261 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Series #13

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Graduation year: 2020 Topic: Racism, Racismo Submission: This isn’t my story, but rather my mom’s. She used to work as a cafeteria worke

Student Series #12

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Topic: Sexual comment by a teacher, Comentario sexual de un profesor Submission: One day, I had dressed up a little bit more for a prese

Student Series #11

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Graduation year: 2022 Topic: Racism, Racismo Submission: In 8th grade, we were covering a topic based on slavery in my Texas history cla

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page