top of page
Search

Student Series #3

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD

Graduation year: 2021

Topic: Mental health, Salud mental

Submission:

I went to the counselor to achieve some kind of help or aid for my anxiety, and the feeling of constant stress and unsafety caused by my peers. I did so because my parents couldn't afford a therapist and I figured a counselor would help; they're supposed to help with all that stuff, right?


When I got to the counselor's office she sat me down and asked me why I was there, and I was shaking and stuttering as I told her that I had really bad issues with anxiety and wanted help from either the counselor or the school psychologist. I was extremely anxious about the visit because it was out of my comfort zone and I was in a new place directly confronting a figure of authority, and it freaked me out. It had taken me years to even gather up the courage to come here in the first place because of how anxious the situation made me feel. The counselor continued to ask questions and I tried to keep my calm and answer them, increasingly calming just a little bit down as I focused more on the answers than my counselor.


When she was done asking questions, she typed into the computer and simply said this. "Well, your grades are fine, no disciplinary issues, you have a boyfriend, you're in extracurricular activities... I just don't think we can help with what you're going through as it's completely normal to feel a little bit anxious sometimes when you're a teenager. We help with people who can't even talk because of how anxious they are, or can't function in a school environment. I'll check up on you in a few days but that's all we can do."


As somebody who has been fighting anxiety my entire life, it was like being slapped in the face and told I wasn't good enough. She swept my anxiety aside because of my grades and relationship status. By doing this, counselors and teachers are shoving those higher-functioning mentally ill students deeper in a hole of depression and hopelessness. I felt like, in that moment, nobody believed me and nobody would help me. The walk back to class was more a walk of shame. The next couple of weeks I had to be absent from school every couple days because my anxiety was so bad that I couldn't get out of bed. I felt like I was drowning in my own thoughts and fears and nobody could help me.


It's an issue in Katy ISD that if the proof isn't obvious - if you aren't failing school and hurting their records of good grades and discipline - that you're fine and it's normal. But that's not always the case. The reason I wrote this testimony is because I want to bring light to the issue that some people go through so much more than you think they do.


It's preached in school to be kind because you don't know what somebody is going through at home; but if you have no idea about what's going on inside, why does the staff judge others by what's happening on the outside?


Fui a la consejera para conseguir algún tipo de ayuda para mi ansiedad y la sensación de estrés constante e inseguridad causada por mis compañeros. Lo hice porque mis padres no podían pagar por un terapeuta y pensé que la consejera ayudaría; se supone que deben ayudar con todo eso, ¿verdad?


Cuando llegué a la oficina de la consejera, ella me sentó y me preguntó por qué estaba allí, y estaba temblando y tartamudeando cuando le dije que tenía problemas realmente graves con la ansiedad y que quería la ayuda de la consejera o del psicólogo de la escuela. Estaba extremadamente ansiosa por la visita porque estaba fuera de mi zona de confort y en un lugar nuevo confrontando directamente a una figura de autoridad, algo que me asustaba hacer. Me tomó años incluso reunir el coraje para venir a ver a la consejera en primer lugar debido a la ansiedad que sentía. La consejera continuó haciendo preguntas y traté de mantener la calma y responderlas, cada vez más calmada mientras me enfocaba en las respuestas a lo que mi consejera me preguntaba.


Cuando terminó de hacer preguntas, la consejera escribió en su computadora y simplemente dijo esto: “Bueno, tus notas están bien, no hay problemas disciplinarios, tienes novio, estás en actividades extra curriculares... Simplemente no creo que podamos ayudarte con lo que estás pasando, ya que es completamente normal sentir un poco de ansiedad a veces cuando eres un adolescente. Ayudamos con personas que ni siquiera pueden hablar debido a lo ansiosos que están o que no pueden funcionar en el ambiente escolar. Te veré en unos días para asegurar que estés bien, pero eso es todo lo que podemos hacer.”


Como alguien que ha estado luchando contra la ansiedad toda mi vida, fue como recibir una bofetada y como que me dijeran que yo no era suficiente. Ella ignoró mi ansiedad por mis notas buenas y mi novio. Al hacer esto, los consejeros y maestros están empujando a esos estudiantes con enfermedades mentales de alto rendimiento más profundamente en un agujero de depresión y desesperanza. Sentí que, en ese momento, nadie me creía y nadie me ayudaría. El camino de regreso a clase fue más un paseo de vergüenza. Las siguientes dos semanas tuve que estar ausente de la escuela cada dos días porque mi ansiedad era tan fuerte que no podía levantarme de la cama. Sentía que me estaba ahogando en mis propios pensamientos y miedos y nadie podía ayudarme.


Es un problema en Katy ISD que si la prueba no es obvia - si no estás fallando en la escuela y perjudicando sus registros de buenas notas y disciplina - estás bien y es normal. Pero ese no es siempre el caso. La razón por la que escribí este testimonio es porque quiero mostrar que algunas personas pasan por mucho más de lo que piensas.


Se predica en la escuela que tienes que ser amable porque no sabes por lo que alguien está pasando en casa; pero si no tienes idea de lo que está sucediendo adentro, ¿por qué el personal escolar juzga a los demás por lo que sucede afuera?


Additional info:

The reason I left out my name and my school is because I'm still a student and my anxiety has gotten so bad that I do not wish to be called into the counselor’s office again, in the event that she finds this.


This is the legacy they've left on me.


Not giving people any kind of help.


La razón por la que omití mi nombre y mi escuela es porque todavía soy estudiante y mi ansiedad ha empeorado tanto que no deseo que me llamen nuevamente a la oficina de la consejera, en caso de que encuentre esto.


Este es el legado que me han dejado.


No dar a las personas ningún tipo de ayuda.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Series #13

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Graduation year: 2020 Topic: Racism, Racismo Submission: This isn’t my story, but rather my mom’s. She used to work as a cafeteria worke

Student Series #12

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Topic: Sexual comment by a teacher, Comentario sexual de un profesor Submission: One day, I had dressed up a little bit more for a prese

Student Series #11

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Graduation year: 2022 Topic: Racism, Racismo Submission: In 8th grade, we were covering a topic based on slavery in my Texas history cla

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page