top of page
Search

Student Series #8

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD

Topic: Disorders/Disability, Desórdenes / discapacidad

Submission: When I was maybe seven years old, I was diagnosed with Tourette's Syndrome, a nervous system disorder that causes me to have repetitive involuntary movements called “tics”. It has been a struggle to deal with these "tics", they have affected my social life for many years. When I was in second grade at Griffin Elementary, I remember receiving a mark of bad conduct for rolling my eyes at my teacher when it was really just one of my involuntary tics. Even though my parents described the situation to my teacher, I still missed out on activities and honors that were specifically for those who had good conduct, so I was punished for something that I could not control. At my after-school day care, one of the workers would pull and hold my hair to make me stop shaking my head when we would watch movies, a time when my tics would be worse. I told her many times that it hurt a lot, but she insisted on continuing to grab my hair throughout the duration of these activities. During my time at Tom Wilson Elementary and Seven Lakes Junior High, I would constantly receive aggressive comments like "why do you twitch all the time?", and other classmates would mock me by imitating my tics and making fun of me for them. It was really upsetting to me that I was continuously being mocked and punished for something that I had no control over, and it tremendously affected the relationships I had among my peers as many people would disassociate from me.


The comments have faded now that I am in high school, but I still deal with Tourette's on an everyday basis and it is a big struggle. Being on Zoom during this pandemic has caused me to have extreme muscle pain from trying to suppress these movements while sitting idle on video. It's a natural thing when I'm on camera seeing myself, and I cannot just prevent them from happening. Now that I am going to be starting online school, I am worried that Katy ISD will require students to have cameras on during Zoom calls, thus forcing me to deal with this everyday for hours. I hope they will be equitable in this situation unlike the previous ones I have been in.


In general, I wish people in my past were able to recognize the harmful impact their aggressive comments and actions have had on people like me with Tourette's.


Cuando tenía unos siete años, me diagnosticaron el síndrome de Tourette, un trastorno del sistema nervioso que me provoca movimientos involuntarios repetitivos llamados "tics". Ha sido una lucha lidiar con estos "tics", han afectado mi vida social por muchos años. Cuando estaba en segundo grado en Griffin Elementary (primaria), recuerdo haber recibido una calificación de mala conducta por poner los ojos en blanco ante mi maestro cuando en realidad era solo uno de mis tics involuntarios. A pesar de que mis padres le describieron la situación a mi maestro, todavía me perdí las actividades y los honores que eran específicamente para aquellos que tenían buena conducta, así que fui castigado por algo que no podía controlar. En mi guardería después de la escuela, una de los trabajadores halaba y sostenía mi cabello para que dejara de sacudir la cabeza cuando veíamos películas, un momento en el que mis tics empeoraban. Le dije muchas veces que me dolía mucho, pero ella insistió en seguir agarrándome del pelo durante el tiempo que duraran estas actividades. Durante mi tiempo en Tom Wilson Elementary (primaria) y Seven Lakes Junior High (secundaria), recibía constantemente comentarios agresivos como "¿por qué te mueves todo el tiempo?", y otros compañeros se burlaban de mí imitando mis tics y riéndose de mí por ellos. Fue realmente triste para mí que continuamente se burlaran de mí y que la escuela me castigaba por algo sobre lo que no tenía control, y eso afectó tremendamente las relaciones que tenía entre mis compañeros, ya que muchas personas se disociaban de mí.


Los comentarios se han desvanecido ahora que estoy en la escuela secundaria, pero sigo lidiando con el síndrome de Tourette todos los días y es una gran lucha. Estar en Zoom durante esta pandemia me ha provocado un dolor muscular extremo porque trato de suprimir estos movimientos mientras estoy sentado inactivo en el video. Es algo natural cuando estoy en cámara viéndome a mí mismo, y no puedo evitar que sucedan. Ahora que voy a comenzar la escuela en línea, me preocupa que Katy ISD requiera que los estudiantes tengan cámaras encendidas durante las llamadas de Zoom, lo que me obligará a lidiar con esto todos los días durante horas. Espero que sean equitativos en esta situación a diferencia de las anteriores en las que he estado.


En general, desearía que las personas de mi pasado pudieran reconocer el impacto dañino que sus comentarios y acciones agresivos han tenido en personas como yo con síndrome de Tourette.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Series #13

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Graduation year: 2020 Topic: Racism, Racismo Submission: This isn’t my story, but rather my mom’s. She used to work as a cafeteria worke

Student Series #12

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Topic: Sexual comment by a teacher, Comentario sexual de un profesor Submission: One day, I had dressed up a little bit more for a prese

Student Series #11

Status: Current Katy ISD student, Estudiante actual de Katy ISD Graduation year: 2022 Topic: Racism, Racismo Submission: In 8th grade, we were covering a topic based on slavery in my Texas history cla

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page